Tuesday, January 5, 2010

FADE OUT (Morganville Vampires #7) by Rachel Caine

FADE OUT (Morganville Vampires Book Seven)

Paranormal YA
ISBN# 978-0-451-22866-6
237 Pages
Paperback—Available Now

Rating: 4.5 Enchantments

With Bishop gone and Eve in the local production of 'A Streetcar Named Desire', things around Glass House are about as normal as they've been in a long time. But normal is short lived in Morganville, especially for Claire. She thinks there's something a little odd about Eve's sudden new BFF Kim and it's not just the fact that she hooked up with Shane in the past either, no there's something there that Claire just can't put her finger on. When Kim suddenly goes missing before a rehearsal of the play, Claire and friends can't believe what they uncover about Eve's supposed new friend.

Ms. Caine does a great job with FADE OUT, the seventh installment in this entertaining paranormal series. With Bishop gone in the last book, I wasn't quite sure what would happen next in Morganville with Amelie seemingly back in charge, but things just keep on escalating. When the truth about Kim is found out, suddenly Claire, Eve, Michael and Shane are forced to save her from the Vamps punishment, even if she may actually deserve what she could get. Even with that going on, Ada is still out for blood—namely Claire's—and she really will do anything to get rid of her, making things between the two reach a climatic and chilling head in FADE OUT, where Myrnin gets caught in the middle of deadly game Ada's playing. I never imagined a character who's usually nothing more than a computer generated image of her former self can be so evil and devious. I love how we see Myrnin evolving from his crazed character in the earlier books in the series, even if he still retains a bit of his dark side, which shows up here and there. What I like best about the Morganville series is what I love best about this book, things just keep getting more complicated and the unexpected keeps popping up around every corner. I can't wait to see what's in store for Claire in the next book!

Rachel Caine is the internationally bestselling author of thirty novels, including the New York Times and USA Today bestselling Morganville Vampires young adult series: Glass Houses, The Dead Girls’ Dance, Midnight Alley, Feast of Fools, Lord of Misrule, Carpe Corpus, and Fade Out, with five more to follow in 2009-2011. Visit her online at www.rachelcaine.com

Enchanting Reviews
November 2009

No comments:

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...