Wednesday, December 30, 2009

COFFEE AND LOVE TO GO by Christine Columbus

COFFEE AND LOVE TO GO
CHRISTINE COLUMBUS
Sweet Contemporary
The Wild Rose Press
Sensuality Rating: Sweet
ISBN: N/A
11 pages
$1.50
eBook Available now
 
Rating: 4 Enchantments
 
Dan is newly divorced and trying to get on with his life. His co-workers and friends all seem to want to pair him up with someone. When he spies a gorgeous creature at the local coffee house, he finally sees a reason to appreciate that his ex left him the lawn mower and took all the kitchen appliances. Otherwise, he’d never have seen Missy.

Missy stops in Fresh Brew every day for her morning fix. There’s a certain hunk that catches her eye, but she can’t find the nerve to approach him. Rather than try, she jumps in her yellow jeep and drives away, regretting she didn’t even get his name.
 
Missy calls a local radio advice program and solicits opinions on whether or not a woman should be the one to approach a handsome man. The consensus is overwhelmingly yes. Dan just happens to be listening and recognizes her voice. Could she be talking about him? He’s been having the same feelings about her, and doubting someone as beautiful could be interested in him. Although resolved to find out, everything he tries to say comes out wrong, making him feel like the idiot he believes he is. Finally he turns to the radio show for advice of his own.
 
Ms. Columbus has penned a quirky little story that makes you smile. Dan and Missy both want the other to make the first move, but neither have the courage. I wondered who would finally make the first move, and kept reading to find out. I guess you can’t take the editor out of some of us, and I do wish someone would have caught ‘shinny’ and made it ‘shinny.’ A minor complaint for such a sweet contemporary story. I definitely would read more of Ms. Columbus’ work.

If you’d like to find out more about the author, you can find her blog at http://christinecolumbus.blogspot.com An RWA member, she’s multi-published but still has many stories to tell about the fictional men in her life.

Brett Scott
ENCHANTING REVIEWS
August 2008

GARDEN MAGIC by Beth Caudill

GARDEN MAGIC
BETH CAUDILL
The Wild Rose Press
Genre: Rosette/sensual
ISBN# None
33 Pages
EBook—Available Now

Rating: 5 Enchantments

Melinda Conley was the last of three magical sisters to marry. After failing to find a mate in the supernatural community, she falls for a mortal. So what happens when her magic garden says he's not her one true love?

If it had not been for the fact that this was an EBook and on a much needed computer I would have thrown it against the wall because of her fiancé Eric. Not even a fairy tale woman deserves that kind of treatment. If I had been her I would have broken the rules just that once and used my magic to turn him into something no one would have recognized. But instead of doing something bad to them when she catches them in the act of having sex, she does something for the woman her fiancé is cheating on her with. Imagine that! Had the book been longer it would not have surprised me if her fiancé had intentions of moving his lover into Melinda’s home.
It’s good to see a book about magic that the mage in it uses her skills for good instead of bad.

Melinda is a kind sweet hearted woman. She holds strong to her true self and her magic. I really don’t know what would be more devastating for a woman as gentle as her, finding her fiancé having sex with his secretary or his ill intentions for her home and possessions. That is surely a hard way to find out the man you’re going to marry never loved you in the first place. But she is soon drawn in to the attraction of Rendell. Once again, Ms. Caudill shows her heart, compassion, and soul in her work.
Rendell is her fiancé’s partner in the company they work for. He is a compassionate man with a bit heart. He’s sympathetic and gentle. He shows all the qualities of being the perfect man for any woman. He is also magical and ends up being her true love.

Beth grew up in West Virginia but now resides in North Carolina with her husband and two children. She has a Bachelor of Science in Political Science and previously worked as a quality assurance computer software tester. Reading has been her favorite activity for as long as she can remember and her home has more books than shelves to store them. While being a fulltime parent, she is pursuing a writing career. Recently she joined Romance Writers of America and the RWA chapter Heart of Carolina Romance Writers.
Visit Beth's website at www.bethcaudill.net

Angel
Enchanting Reviews
August 2009

SEVEN NIGHTS OF SIN by Lacey Alexander


SEVEN NIGHTS OF SIN
LACEY ALEXANDER
Contemporary - Erotica
Heat
Sensuality Rating: Sizzling
ISBN #978-0-451-22314-2
$14.00
281 pages
Paperback—Available Now

Rating: 4.5 Enchantments

Brenna Cayton has no desire to have a man in her life, having been burned by her ex, she is just fine flying solo, or so she keeps telling herself. When her boss offers her a promotion to replace the current talent scout, she all but jumps at the chance to move up. Traveling to Vegas to learn the ropes of the music industry from the best, Damon Andros, who ignites a fire she cannot resist, hoping not to get burned by her own guilt.

Damon Andros is the hottest man in the music industry, he is known for his knack signing the hottest new acts in music, while enjoying life to the fullest. Such a lifestyle is making him more of a liability for the company than what his boss is willing to put up with. When he is asked to train Brenna, he agrees to take her under his wing.

Soon both Brenna and Damon cave to the undeniably hot passion which has flared between them. They are determined to fulfill their wildest fantasies in their seven sensual nights together. What will happen once Damon learns of her deception?

----

SEVEN NIGHTS OF SIN is a combustible tale of searing passion. The chemistry between Brenna and Damon scorches the pages; this tale is so hot that you will need a fan to cool you down. I loved Brenna's vulnerability, and watching her struggle to be open with her desires with Damon. And you can't help but fall in love with Damon, as you see him for the man he is. He is such a sweetheart! I loved following them along as they explored and indulged in their fantasies. More than the sexual chemistry between Brenna and Damon, I loved the emotional journey they traveled, I just wanted to cry when Damon discovered Brenna's betrayal, but was well satisfied how everything was worked out.

To learn more about Lacey Alexander and her entertaining books, please visit her on the web at: http://www.laceyalexander.net/

Aemelia
Enchanting Reviews
December 2008

SEDUCE ME IN SHADOW by Shayla Black

SEDUCE ME IN SHADOW - Doomsday Bretheren #2
SHAYLA BLACK
Paranormal Romance
Pocket Books
Sensuality Rating: Spicy
ISBN #978-1416578444
226 pages

Rating: 5 Enchantments

Caden is desperate to do whatever it takes to make sure his brother lives, even if it means having to involve himself in the magic world. He’d made a sworn oath that he would never have anything to do with magic or the people who are involved in it., but he finds himself in over his head as his own transition is coming on and the saucy reporter he’s trying to stop from printing the wrong information.

Sidney has always felt alone in her life because she chose to be a reporter. Reporting the paranormal activity is pushing her into a danger zone. When she’s given a magic book to make wishes with she gets more than she bargained for, Cade.

Caden isn’t your normal romance novel man and I award Ms. Black for that. It was a very refreshing change from the perfect man. I could relate to this man although I’m female. He’s been scared, but has his pride. His desire for Sidney is overwhelming. Caden is the kind of man I actually dream of. He’s sensitive and sexy.
---
The scarred scared man becomes the hero in the end. The tension between Sydney and Cade will forever haunt my mind no matter how much I read. The saucy way Sidney behaves gives the book something to smile about. I love how she stood up for herself against Cade over the news reporting for the mage kind. It shows as much as tells the strong character of the woman. Ms. Black leaves plenty of room for another book in the series.

SHAYLA BLACK is the nationally bestselling author of more than twenty sizzling contemporary, erotic, paranormal, and historical romances, including the Doomsday Brethren novels Tempt Me with Darkness and Possess Me at Midnight. Her novel Decadent was nominated for Best Erotic Romance of 2007 by Romantic Times. She lives in Texas with her family.

Visit her website at www.shaylablack.com.

Angel
Enchanting Reviews
November 2009

Thursday, December 24, 2009

EXTREMELY HOT by Jenninfer Apodaca

EXTREMELY HOT
JENNIFER APODACA
Romantic Suspense
Kensington Publishing
Sensuality Rating: Sensual
ISBN# 13: 978-0-7582-1451-5
10: 0-7582-1451-0
314 pages
$14.00
Print - Available Now

Rating: 5 Enchantments

Luke Sterling, also known as the Urban Legend, is a gorgeous, hunky ex-military man with a past, and unsure about a future until he encounters Ivy York.

Ivy York is a radio talk show host for the Sex Hex show. She helps women protect themselves and their finances from men who are looking for a free ride

This is a romantic thriller packed with suspense as several people, including Luke and Ivy, search for two stolen ancient jade fertility and virility statues.

This story was fabulous, and the ending made me cry, happy tears no less. Ms. Apodaca, you did a marvelous job weaving the mystery and suspense beautifully throughout this story. I was on the edge of my seat throughout the read, and just when I thought it was going one way, it went another. I loved the story, especially the ending! Great work!! If you like romance, mystery, and suspense, this is a must read, It’s marvelous!

This author went from suburban soccer mom to mystery writer when she discovered how much fun it was to kill off people in her books. Embracing her new interest in murder, she enjoys combining humor, murder and mystery into hot romances. Please visit her website at www.jenniferapodaca.com.


Desiree de Cleves
Enchanting Reviews
April 2008

Monday, December 7, 2009

CELTIC LOVE KNOTS VOL 8: SANDS OF TIME & TURNING BACK TIME by Michelle Houston

CELTIC LOVE KNOTS VOL 8: SANDS OF TIME & TURNING BACK TIME
MICHELLE HOUSTON
Torrid Romance Paranormal
Whiskey Creek Press Torrid
Sensuality Rating - Sensual
ISBN# 978-1-60313-026-4
76 Pages
$3.99
eBook - Available Now

Rating: 5 Enchantments

SANDS OF TIME:
Ciaran is a Cait Sith, a shape-shifter who has known for ten years that Nicole Jefferies is his mate. Nicole Jefferies is a young woman diagnosed with terminal cancer, and has decided to spend her last days traveling the world. She starts her travels in Scotland, where she meets Ciaran.

This is a sweet love story that invites fantasy, as well as mortality, into the gathering of life.
This story was excellent. Beautiful word pictures painted on a lovely canvas. I was immediately drawn into the fantasy. I wish it were longer. Great job, Ms. Houston.

TURNING BACK TIME:
Julie, Nicole Jefferies’ long-time friend, has just heard that Nicole is dead, but she doesn’t believe it, she has to see the body for herself.
Roarke is a shape-shifting Scot, who knows that Julie is his mate, but can she accept that fact? Only time will tell.

This love story accompanies SANDS OF TIME, and it too is excellent. I loved both stories, although I wished they were longer. If you love fantasy and true love, this book is a must buy.

Michelle Houston has been writing erotica/erotic romance since 1995, and a member of The Erotic Readers & Writers Association since early 2002. Recently joining Sexy Authors With Attitude, she’s now their webmistress. You can reach Michelle at www.eroticpen.net or www.sexyauthorswithattitude.com

Desiree de Cleves
Enchanting Reviews
April 2008

BEYOND THE VALLEY by Destiny Blaine

BEYOND THE VALLEY
DESTINY BLAINE
Romance/Western/Contemporary
eXtasy Books
Sensuality Rating: 4 Flames
ISBN# 978-1-55487-038-7
86 pages
$3.99
eBook - Available Now

Rating: 5 Enchantments

Jonathan Woodwine is a thirty-six year old, hunky, unmarried cowboy, who was intrigued watching Victoria break a horse.

Victoria is a gorgeous nineteen-year-old with a tragic past, and unsure where her future leads.

This is a love story where two people come together, one wearing a chip on her shoulder, and the other not looking for a mate, and create a beautiful relationship.

This is a quick, easy read with a bit of mystery as you try to figure out why the heroine has a chip on her shoulder. I loved the romantic, happily-ever-after ending. Great job Ms. Blaine, very nice.

Ms. Blaine is an erotic romance author who writes in various genres. Visit her website at www.destinyblaine.com for more information.


Desiree de Cleves
Enchanting Reviews
April 2008

A FEW MILES MORE by Penny Dawn

A FEW MILES MORE
PENNY DAWN
Romance/ M/F/M/F Ménage
Amber Quill Press
Sensuality Rating: Erotic
ISBN-13: 978-1-60272-168-5
122 pages
$5.00
eBook/Print - Available Now

Rating: 5 Enchantments

Miles and Brighton McClintock, gorgeous and estranged identical twins, renew their relationship on a cross-country trip with their girlfriends.

Cherry, Brighton’s girlfriend and Joanna, Miles’ girlfriend, meet each other and bring their boyfriends back together in the way identical twins should be together.

This is a cute romance where a family is brought back together, through several layers of hurt and betrayal, out of their love for one of their sisters.

This was a soft romance, very enjoyable. Ms. Dawn beautifully covered some sensitive relationship issues, weaving them intricately with family life, and created a very enjoyable read. There is a M/F/M/F ménage, as well as containing several enjoyable, explicit, sex scenes. If you enjoy ménage and watching people successfully work through relationship issues, you’ll love this story.

When she isn’t writing, Ms. Dawn enjoys tap, ballet, and jazz dance, physical fitness, and renovating her 1906 Victorian Lady. Drop by her website www.pennydawn.com to discuss all things decadent. If you wish to contact Ms. Dawn, please drop her a line, or request an invitation to join Penny Dawn’s Romance…with a Passion! at penny_dawn1111@yahoo.com.


Desiree de Cleves
Enchanting Reviews
April 2008

WHEN DREAMS COME TRUE by Pat Cromwell

WHEN DREAMS COME TRUE
PAT CROMWELL
Red Rose Publishing
Bi-Racial Romance
Sensuality Rating: Sensual
ISBN# 978-1-60435-129-3
1-60435-129-2
156 pages
$3.99
eBook - Available

Rating: 4 Enchantments

Kenneth Ingram, a white interim professor working at Franklin College, is instantly attracted to a young Black woman he see while out walking one day. He knows in an instant that she is destined to be his mate. For Kenneth, it is love at first sight.

Unfortunately, the young woman, Chris, turns out to be one of Professor Ingram’s students. After ending an abusive relationship, she is a bit cynical when her professor tells her that he’s going to marry her. She doesn’t believe him, but she is definitely attracted to him.

This is a story about how a divorced white man, with a white mother and a black stepfather, finds love with a young black woman. Professor Ingram notices his sexy student Chris immediately, and then begins to pursue her. They develop a sexy steamy relationship together and they end up getting married.

This is a brilliant story of love, sex, relationships, and the impact of prejudice. I believe in love at first sight, and so did Professor Ingram. This is a light, fun read, encompassing some of the issues that are so prevalent in society today in a very productive way. I think the author did a lovely job interlacing these heavy topics with light fun to create a wonderful, believable story.

Ms. Cromwell‘s number one addiction is daytime soaps. She draws her inspiration for over the top and occasionally outrageous dialogue not only from her favorite daytime soaps – which she records religiously – but also from her family and friends. She‘s the first to admit that her characters are sometimes way out there, but millions of fans of the genre can‘t be wrong! You can reach her at pacd97867@cs.com or www.patcromwell.com.


Desiree de Cleves
Enchanting Reviews
March 2008

DEMENTIA: TREK MI Q’AN BOOK 5.5 by Jaid Black

DEMENTIA: TREK MI Q’AN BOOK 5.5
JAID BLACK
Futuristic
Ellora’s Cave
Sensuality Rating: E-rotic
ISBN# eBook 1-84360-196-6
Print 9781419956393
32 pages eBook/154 pages Print
$2.99 eBook/$6.99 Print
eBook/Print - Available Now

Rating: 5 Enchantments

Zaab. General Zaab of the Mantus Hoard, to be exact. He is a gorilla fighter on Dementia and rules with much force and fear. Zaab has attributes of both a human man as well as a gorilla. Ever since he noticed Dee when she was attempting to steal, he has become completely obsessed with her. Will Zaab finally be able to capture his elusive Dee? And if he can, will he be able to keep her from escaping him again?

Dee, also known as Delores Ellison, and she really originates from Earth. About a year ago, she found herself transported to this desolate place called Dementia. She has been able to escape enslavement for the past year. It now looks like her time is up. Will Dee be able to escape him again? Or will she finally find herself in her very own nightmare as a slave to a gorilla?

Dee currently finds herself being chased through the jungle. She realizes she knows who is actually chasing her and it frightens her. As she is being stung in the thigh, she instinctively screams and is immediately thrown to the ground. Oh no, what will happen now? Will Dee be able to escape again or will her hunter find her and enslave her?

This definitely deserves 5 unbelievable Enchantments. This is the first novella I read by Ms. Black, and I have to say that this was a great story. Please don’t be fooled by its length. The rhythm of the story was fast paced and adventurous. “Dementia” is the perfect length for a quick and short diversion from reality for one night. It will transport you to another world and soften your heart to a strong and possessive alpha-male. As short as this story is, the details are wonderful. Ms. Black is able to paint a wonderful picture in the imaginations of her readers and make that personal connection that can transport the reader to a whole new universe.

Jaid Black has been writing for several years and has a great collection of books written. Whether you like futuristic, time travel, Vikings, suspense, action-filled, or a sexual fantasy played out, you will be able to find all of those with this one special author. Look her up at http://www.jaidblack.com/index.htm. From this page you will be able to find all the information you want about Ms. Black and her books.


Rebeca
Enchanting Reviews
February 2008

CASSIE’S SHEIK by Linda Sole

CASSIE’S SHEIK
LINDA SOLE
Contemporary Romance
Red Rose Publishing
Sensuality Rating - S-ensuous
ISBN# 978-1-60435-070-8
230 pages
$4.99
eBook - Available January 10, 2008

Rating: 5 Enchantments

Kasim Ahmed Mohammed is the nephew of a sheik, but is a sheik himself through his lineage. He is aggressive, and a bit overbearing, and he loves Cassie Livingston.

Cassandra Livingston is a twenty-one year old journalist who is helping her father at his stables when she meets Kasim; her knees grew weak, her heart rate sped up and she fell in love with this Middle-Eastern man named Kasim.

This sweet love story brings together an English woman and a Middle-Eastern man in a sweet connection. They overcome different cultural as well as religious differences, to form a beautiful relationship

Absolutely enchanting, such a wonderful story. This story is a beautiful combining of cultures, creating something lovely and worth reading. Ms. Sole created a work, putting it boldly on the canvas and painted it with happy, bright, and sweet colors. For the hopeless romantics like myself, this story is a must read, and one I will read again. Great work, Ms. Sole, I loved it!

Ms. Sole was born in Swindon. She started writing in 1976, combining this with helping her husband to run his antique shop. Writing as Anne Herries, Linda won the 2004 RNA Romance Award and the Betty Neels Trophy. You can reach her at http://www.lindasole.co.uk.


Desiree de Cleves
Enchanting Reviews
April 2008

BRIDES OF SERENDIPITY by Sarah Richmond

BRIDES OF SERENDIPITY
SARAH RICHMOND
Historical/Western/Romance
Cerridwen Press
Sensuality Rating - S-ensuous
ISBN# 9781419914171
223 pages
$6.99
eBook - Available Now

Rating: 5 Enchantments

1. COURTIN’ DORY: This is a delightful romance and courtship between Harley Jacobs, a resident of Rag town, and Dory, a pioneer heading west. It is a sweet story with the old west and its culture, beautifully illustrated.

2. BARRETTS LAW: The widda Nicolena Carlson was lonely, the widow Henry Barrett never anticipated remarrying. The two of them ran into each other, and after the dust settled and the sparks stopped flying, they realized they were perfect for each other. This is a lovely, sweet story, and a wonderful read for the romantic at heart.

3. ROSEY: Rosamund Sherry, also known as Rosey, is widowed. Her husband
Sheriff Jake Sherry was murdered by an outlaw called the Kid. Matthew Kincaid is the new sheriff, and he likes Rosey. After a period of time, Rosey realizes she is pregnant with Jake’s baby, and she needs a husband. Mathew loves her, and is ready to be her man.

This book was very good; all three stories were sweet, gentle romance, with the Wild West woven in so delightfully. I enjoyed this book, the softness and the romance. Very nice work, Ms. Richmond, I totally enjoyed it.

Ms. Richmond has lived and traveled all over the world. She calls Pasadena, California, home. She is the winner of the Reviewer’s Choice award for favorite historical author at simegen.com. Sarah welcomes comments from readers. You can find her website and email address on her author bio page at www.cerridwenpress.com.


Desiree de Cleves
Enchanting Reviews
May 2008

WINTER WONDERS by Cindy Green/Jo Ann Carter/Meg Allison/Muncy G. Chapman

WINTER WONDERS - ANTHOLOGY
CINDY GREEN, JO ANN CARTER, MEG ALLISON, MUNCY G. CHAPMAN
Short & Sweet
By Grace Publishing
Sensuality Rating: Sweet
ISBN# N/A
75 pages
$2.99 eBook/$9.22 Print
eBook/Print - Available Now

Rating: 5 Enchantments

Snow Kissed – Cindy Green

Logan Riley paints a rough exterior in his grease-stained t-shirt and faded jeans, but his eyes soften whenever Holly Armstrong is around.

Holly Armstrong, with her wavy reddish-brown hair and blue eyes, has decided to leave Meriden for New York. It’s going to be hard to leave all the things she loves about her small town environment, but it’s a perfect opportunity to further her music career

Logan is terribly upset when he learns from a third party that Holly is leaving. Why couldn’t she have told him? They’ve spent so many special times together, and his heart is breaking. He can’t just let her leave without seeing her one more time, so contrary to his past behavior, he goes to the carnival to find her.

You can read more about this wonderful author at: http://cindykgreen.com/.

Smuggler of the Heart – Jo Ann Carter

Tim Davis stands six feet tall, with light brown hair and intense hazel eyes. He’s had dates and casual relationships, but no one has ever measured up to Samantha Warren.

Auburn-haired Samantha Warren has returned to her grandmother’s home in Stowe for a short visit. While rummaging through Gram’s attic, she comes upon a small worn wooden chest that has quite a history.

The small worn chest that Samantha finds reveals a family legacy of love. She and Tim are both too stubborn to admit their feelings, and Samantha is determined to return to Trenton. Smuggler’s Cove has a connection with the wooden box, and is where Tim takes her on a ski trip.

This lovely book is available at: http://www.bygracepublishing.com.

Gwen’s Resolution – Meg Allison

Tad Smith lives in the small town of Harris Grove. He left long enough to go to college and major in business, but came back to open his own garage.

Gwen Josephs is alone in her duplex, preparing for New Year’s Eve. Tonight will be a new beginning in more ways than one. No more sitting in front of the television or reading novel after novel. She’s going to go out and have fun, even if she’s alone.

It was a year ago when Gwen’s boyfriend broke up with here. As she readies to leave, the phone rings and it’s her mother, checking up on her. Rather than admit to celebrating alone, she tells a little white lie about meeting someone. Her white lie turns out to be the truth when handsome Tad Smith invites her to join him at his table.

With five children, a husband an assorted pets, it’s amazing that Ms. Allison can find time write. She can read more about her at: http://www.megallisonauthor.com.

Maybe Forever – Muncy G. Chapman

Bryan McAlister is on his way to the University of Iowa and a new position when his car slides off the icy road and hit a tree.

Margy Mayfield has just returned home from selling her prized bull at the Ames Livestock auction. A storm is brewing and she’s in a hurry to get home. There’s an escaped convict on the loose.

Maybe Forever was a great finale for this anthology. It’s a little different than the other stories in that Margy is a widow. Despite an invitation from her hired hand, Hiram, to spend the stormy night with he and his wife, Margy decides to stay at home. When the lights go out, she settles down by the lantern to perform her nightly devotion. A pounding on the door interrupts her, and a peek out the window shows someone matching the description of the escapee standing on her doorstep.

Muncy G. Chapman is not a novice author. You can find more of her work at: htttp://www.bygracepublishing.com.

Winter Wonders is full of ‘ah’ moments, and I could go on and on but I have to limit my comments. All I can say is you won’t be disappointed with a single story in this collection. Well done, ladies.


Brett Scott
ENCHANTING REVIEWS
June 2008

BLACK DRAGON by December Quinn

BLACK DRAGON
DECEMBER QUINN
Historical Romance
Cerridwen Press
Sensuality Rating - S-ensuous
ISBN# 9781419913099
203 pages
$6.99
eBook - Available Now

Rating: 5 Enchantments

Gruffydd ap Hywel, also known as the Black Dragon, is a good-looking man who is haunted by his past. He is a man who never allowed himself the pleasure of happiness.

Lady Isabelle is betrothed to Gruffydd in an arranged marriage. She does not want to go with him, but does so out of obedience and duty to her father. Will she ever find love?

This is a historical romance taking place in the thirteenth century. It is filled with murder and mystery. The man and woman do get together after much intrigue, and it ends with a beautiful Happy Ever After.

I wish sometimes I could give a book a higher rating, 5 is as high as we go, but this story was fabulous. Ms. Quinn beautifully wove romance, heartbreak, pain, happiness, and intrigue into a beautiful tapestry of a phenomenal story. I totally loved this story. I was glued from the beginning to the end, and I loved the epilogue! This is a must read, and I will read it again.

Ms. Quinn is married with children. She has been writing for years, and is the author of several acclaimed books. She is intent on writing - especially writing romance. There's something about writing these stories - creating these people and the world they live in, finding out how they fit together, and the knowledge that you're making people happy - that she loves. You can reach her at www.myspace.com/decemberquinn.


Desiree de Cleves
Enchanting Reviews
May 2008

Saturday, December 5, 2009

BEAST OF DESIRE by Lisa Renee Jones

BEAST OF DESIRE, KNIGHTS OF WHITE BOOK 2
LISA RENEE JONES
Paranormal Romance
Harlequin Books S.A., Silhouette Nocturne
Sensuality Rating: Spicy
ISBN # 978-0-373-61783-6
eBook $4.75/ Print $5.25
eBook/Print - Available March 2008

Rating: 5 Enchantments

The Knights of White are back. This time they are looking to save the legendary journal of Solomon, which is said to hold a map to the location of a list of bloodlines of the descents of angels. The Darkland Beasts are after the journal, wanting to destroy all that may be connected to it.

Jessica Montgomery's mother died trying to find Solomon's journals, ignoring her health because of her obsession to locate them. When they are found, the museum Jessica works for plans to hold a reception to reveal the journals to the public, unwittingly revealing them to the beasts who want to steal them and use them for their own evil design.

Des is the leader of the team of knights on the reconnaissance mission for the recently discovered journals. They know that the Darkland Beasts are planning a heist, which they plan to thwart, by getting it first. Des meets Jessica under the guise wanting to gift the museum with a generous donation. The chemistry between them is immediately obvious to both, the only question is whether to fight it, or enjoy it.

Des is walking a thin line between darkness and light. He has control of his beast, though is not willing to depend on the goodness of his soul, fearing the evil is to close to the surface and may be unexpectedly released. Jessica has an innocent soul, willing to see Des for all that he is. Jessica is the only thing that can save him. As they search for the map of the bloodlines, they grow closer and closer.

OMG! Ms. Jones has done it again! Des and Jessica's story is another outstanding show of her incredible talent at penning a story I will want to read again and again! Des is struggling not to let the beast inside him control his life, yet also unwilling to let the man come through either. He believes that his flaws as a human may come to corrupt him into losing his battle and letting the beast out for good. I love that Jessica is a woman who knows what she wants, and is not afraid to go after it. She knew that Des was her destiny and did not fight it, though she did have to fight to make Des realize that she is his destiny, also.

The Knights of White are my favorite kind of heroes, alpha males, with insecurities that make you love them as they try to overcome their flaws, both real and imagined. They are also men who treat the woman in their lives with love and respect, even when they are denying they feel any emotion. No doubt about it - Ms. Jones' books are an auto-buy for me. She writes compelling stories that keep me enthralled from page one all the way through the end. I loath putting her books down, how dare work and family intrude! I am already counting down the days until Max and Sarah's book, which doesn't come out until JULY!

To learn more about the Knights of White series, you can visit them on the web at: http://www.theknightsofwhite.com/. To find out more about Lisa Renee Jones, you can visit her at: http://www.lisareneejones.com/.


Aemelia
Enchanting Reviews
February 2008

BEAST OF DARKNESS by Lisa Renee Jones

BEAST OF DARKNESS

LISA RENEE JONES

Paranormal Romance

Harlequin Books S.A., Silhouette Nocturne

Sensuality Rating - Spicy

280 Pages

ISBN # 978-0-373-61790-6

eBook $4.75 / Print $5.25

eBook/Print - Available July 2008

Rating: 5 Enchantments

The Knights of White return in their vigilant fight of good vs. evil against the Darkland Beasts.

Adrian is back with a new scheme in his struggle to obtain more dark power. He has discovered a demon prince, Vars, who can be used to strengthen his battle against the Knights and to overtake Cain, as the ruler of the underworld. He would like nothing better than to add Max to his demon army.

Breaking the sacred rule to never kill a human, albeit an evil one, Max must pass an unthinkably hard test to prove that he will not succumb to his inner-beast. Salvidor has sent him on a quest to affirm his loyalty to the Knights. He is drawn to the town of Nowhere, Texas, where he senses an evil not just born of the beasts, and knows that it will be a part of his trial.

Sarah Meyers and her team have been asked to visit Nowhere, Texas to research the supernatural happenings around town. Gifted with the ability to speak with the dead, she has never felt normal, so when she meets Max she feels a kindred spirit.

Max knows that Sarah is his mate, but will she be able to accept him? Having lost her family to a demon, Sarah is hesitant to trust. But soon she feels the same tug as Max and knows that they are meant for each other. But, will she be willing to be Max's mate?

Soon the battle ensues, Max calls his fellow Knights to help defeat the uprising army of beasts. Will Max lose his soul to join Adrian's army? Or will Sarah give him the confidence he needs to trust himself to be hers for eternity and to continue the battle against the beasts?

Another outstanding achievement by Lisa Renee Jones! She has created warriors that jump off the pages in their quests to combat evil and find love. The Knights of White are my absolute favorite superheroes! I was drawn to Max's story in BEAST OF DESIRE, where he showed the promise of a true champion, and in BEAST OF DARKNESS he did not disappoint. I was on the edge of my seat, throughout much of the story, just waiting to see where he was going to take me. I loved that he had never lost faith, and was able to show Sarah how to regain hers and how she was gave him the strength he needed to believe in himself and in their love. Sarah was a perfect compliment for him. As a strong independent woman, she was able to see into him, understanding him to the point that she was sure the beast within him was well below the surface.

Ms. Jones did an excellent job bringing the Knights and Cathy and Edward, Sarah's team, into the story, without taking away from Max and Sarah. Adrian and Salvidor are key characters that add a higher element to the fight, I love seeing their battles in each story.

I eagerly await the next installment of the series, CAPTIVE BY THE BEAST, Rinehart's story. I can't wait to see what scheme Adrian thinks of next (or see what punishment Cain has in store for him.)

To learn more about Lisa Renee Jones you can visit her on the web at http://www.lisareneejones.com/ and to learn more about the Knights of White, visit them at http://www.knightsofwhite.com/.

Aemelia

Enchanting Reviews

May 2008

Sunday, October 18, 2009

VISION IN WHITE by Nora Roberts


VISION IN WHITE
NORA ROBERTS
Contemporary Romance
Berkley
Sensuality Rating: Sexy
ISBN# 9780-425-22751-0
352 Pages
$16.00
Trade--Available Now

Rating: 4 Enchantments

Mackenzie “Mac” Elliot is the wedding photographer for ‘Vows’, the wedding planning business she runs with her three lifelong best friends. She isn’t looking for a relationship at all, in fact, that’s probably the last thing on Earth she wants--until she encounters Carter Maguire, the new teacher at her old high school and the brother of one of their clients.

Carter Maguire had a crush on the free spirited Mac in high school and never did anything about it. Now that they’ve reconnected thanks to his younger sister’s wedding, he’s not going to let that happen again. Recently out of a bad relationship, Carter’s a little unsure in the dating department and gets help from his co-worker and friend, Bob, who isn’t the best advice giver in the world. But Carter gets past the bad advice and falls--hard--for the unconventional photographer.

VISION IN WHITE is a great kick-off to Ms. Roberts’ new series. I loved Mac, she’s a very strong willed character, except when her mother’s involved and that’s where the trouble begins. Thanks to her oft married mother, Mac has a skewed view of relationships and panics when she realizes things between her and Carter may be getting more serious than what she’s comfortable with. At times, I wasn’t sure of Carter. I liked him well enough, and he loves Mac, but his uneasiness with how to act and date and basically woo her did get a little tedious at times, but the chemistry between the two characters is unmistakable. There are some truly great scenes in the book. One of my favorites is the meet scene between Mac and Carter, where he bops his head against the wall and she tends to him. Not to spoil it, but it’s a really funny and memorable scene with some great dialogue.

Ms. Roberts lays the groundwork in VISION IN WHITE for what should be a great series. I love the backdrop of the four women running a ‘Vows’ the wedding planning company. All four women are equally strong characters and there’s already some hint of the possible men in their lives with some of the supporting cast in this book. I look forward to the second book, ‘Bed Of Roses’, due to be released October 2009.

Nora Roberts is the author of 160 New York Times best sellers, including 23 written as J.D. Robb and one written together with J.D. Robb. Visit her online at http://www.noraroberts.com/

Lisa
Enchanting Reviews
August 2009

BARELY BEWITCHED (A Southern Witch Novel) by Kimberly Frost


BARELY BEWITCHED (A Southern Witch Novel)
KIMBERLY FROST
Paranormal Romance
Berkley
Sensuality Rating: Sexy
ISBN# 978-0-425-22961-3
312 Pages
$14.00
Trade—Available Now

Rating: 4 Enchantments

Tammy Jo is once again finding herself in a heap load of trouble. Bad enough that her attraction to Bryn is anything but fading, but there's a guy on her doorstep telling her she has to take a witch test from WAM, the World Association of Magic, within a few weeks. If she fails, she's dead. He won't listen to the fact that she doesn't want to be a witch nor does she want to cast spells ever again. Amongst this, her ex-husband and sometimes boyfriend Zach is having issues dealing with what happened, her family ghost Edie up and disappears on her and somehow in all of this, Tammy Jo's managed to somehow turn fae.

BARELY BEWITCHED is a great fun paranormal read. I'd definitely say it helps if you're already familiar with the series, as some parts can be a little confusing if you don't already know the prior history between some of the characters. I liked Tammy Jo a lot, she wasn't afraid to do things, even though she knew they could end up going wrong, like her magic usually seems to. Her chemistry with both her ex-husband Zach and with Bryn is complex and intriguing. At some points, you want her with Zach and others you wonder why she wastes her time with him. Same can be said for her relationship with Bryn as well.

What I truly loved about BARELY BEWITCHED is that it was a read where you truly had no idea what would happen next. Between the arson-crazed Incendio, the faeries that had escaped and created havoc within Duvall, and her topsy-turvy relationship with both men in her life, the pages went by in a blur and I reached the end of the book far too soon. The story may have gotten off to a bit of slow start, but once it reached the middle it was raring along. It's hard to say who I wish Tammy Jo would end up with, especially with Edie's warning of a future betrayal in Tammy Jo's future, but at the moment I'm leaning towards Bryn as he's not so my way or the highway with Tammy Jo.

Filled with fun characters, like her hairdresser Johnny and his vamp boyfriend, Rollie and the interesting Mr. Jenson, BARELY BEWITCHED is a great second novel in the series. I can't wait to read what's next for Tammy Jo and the town of Duvall.

Kimberly Frost wasn't born in Texas, but she got there as fast as she could. Currently at home in a small town known as Houston, she is taking dictation from her characters and working on a new Southern Witch novel. She loves to hear from readers and you can visit her at http://www.frostfiction.com/

Lisa
Enchanting Reviews
September 2009

SINS OF A WICKED DUKE by Sophie Jordan


SINS OF A WICKED DUKE
SOPHIE JORDAN
Historical Romance
Avon Historical Romance
Sensuality Rating: Sexy
ISBN#978-0-06-157917-2
369 Pages
$6.99
Paperback—Available Now

Rating: 4.5 Enchantments

Dominic Hale, known as ‘the demon duke’ for his wild living ways, can’t get the woman he rescued out of his head. But she spurned his advances and he doesn’t have time for women who aren’t interested in what he has to offer—which to be brutally honest, isn’t much more then a good time. He’s not interested in relationships, as his nickname suggests. But the right woman might just change all that, if he can convince both her and himself.

After losing her latest job, thanks to the wandering hands of her boss’ son, Fallon O’Rouke finds herself without a lot of options. The woman at the agency won’t recommend her for another job. One of her two best friends is setting sail with her own charge and Fallon is at a loss of what to do—until the perfect idea hits. If she were a man things would be much easier. Shedding her attention getting locks is easier than expected and she gets the first job she turns up for, working for the one man she never expected, the man who tried to rescue her from the wandering hands of her last employer, the so-called wicked duke.

SINS OF A WICKED DUKE is a really enjoyable historical romance. Fallon isn’t exactly your typical woman of the times, as she’s willing to change her appearance and even her identity to get a job so she can attain her dream of one day having a small cottage of her own. I especially enjoyed watching her have to fight to keep her role as Francis “Frank” when she finds herself attracted to Dominic. And things get even more fun when one of the young maids decides to crush on newcomer ‘Frank’. Forced to hide her true identity, things become even more complicated when out of an act of heroism ‘Frank’ saves Dominic from being shot by an irate husband and is quickly promoted in the household to that of valet. It was hard enough being attracted to Dominic from afar, but now Fallon finds herself living in the room next door. I loved the tension between the two, especially when Dominic begins to believe Frank isn’t who he says he is. And the scene where the truth comes out is truly one of my favorites. But hands down, the best scene is when Fallon as Frank shoos out Dominic’s drunken friend and the two women who are there with them. With Dominic passed out on top of the bed, Fallon thinks she can escape. But when he mistakenly thinks it’s the woman he brought home and kisses her, it takes all of Fallon’s willpower to pull away and sneak back to her own room. Ms. Jordan has done a great job creating two memorable characters with Fallon and Dominic.

Sophie Jordan is a former high school English teacher and resides in Houston with her family. When not writing, she divides her time between inventing what she calls culinary masterpieces and visiting her family’s pecan ranch in the Texas Hill Country. Sophie also writes paranormal romances under the name Sharie Kohler.

Lisa
Enchanting Reviews
July 2009

THE LONE TEXAN by Jodi Thomas


THE LONE TEXAN
JODI THOMAS
Historical Romance
Berkley
Sensuality Rating: Sweet
ISBN# 978-0-425-23062-6
336 pages
$7.99Print – Available Now
Rating: 5 Enchantments

Drummond Roak has always taken care of himself as he grew up on his own and became a legendary gunfighter. He’s sexy, caring and a little rough around the edges. The one constant in his life has been his love for Sage McMurray.

Sage grew up under the protection of three older brothers, and at 18 left to make her own mark in the world as a doctor. Now she’s returned home to Whispering Mountain with a cynical attitude about love. When Sage returns home she has plans to open a clinic and live quietly being a doctor. However, she gets involved in protecting two boys who have thugs gunning for them. No one is sure why a band of outlaws wants them dead, but with Drum's help she’s determined to make sure they are safe. That could be hard to do since she’s kidnapped by the outlaws and taken to their hideout. Drum rides out to save her, with revenge on his mind.

This is a very sweet love story with a likable hero and heroine. Both Sage and Drum are inherently good people trying to find their place in life. The conversations they have are both sweet and feisty, as Sage isn’t quite ready to admit that Drum is the man for her but he’s doing his best to convince her. I loved the interaction between the two, as Ms. Thomas does a good job of making their arguments funny, but at the same time you can tell they care for each other
Drums’ pining for Sage does get a little old and he’s made out to practically be a saint as he constantly shrugs off Sage’s rejection and always does the right thing. However, he still makes a great hero because he does treat Sage with respect and even though he’s had a rough life he still cares about the people around him.

The action in this story keeps moving with several story lines going at once. The focus isn’t solely on the main characters and I really liked the little side story involving Sage’s nurse Bonnie. I’m also hoping that Ranger Daniel will get his own story! There’s a little of everything in this book, including murder, mystery and a love story. This is the first story I’ve read by Ms. Thomas and I can’t wait to read some of the first books in the Whispering Mountain series.

Ms. Thomas grew up in Texas and most of her novels are set there. She’s won many awards for her writing. You can learn more about her at http://www.jodithomas.com/.

Heather
Enchanting Reviews
September 2009

Thursday, October 15, 2009

BLOOD RED ROSE: THE HUNT FOR THE ELIXIR by Midnyte Dupree

BLOOD RED ROSE: THE HUNT FOR THE ELIXIR
MIDNYTE DUPREE
Romance Vampire
Resplendence Publishers
Sensuality Rating: Garnet
ISBN#97-201-107-409-4
Number of pages: 113
$5.00
E book- Available May 2009

Rating: 5 Enchantments

After 200 years living away from his homeland, the Master Vampire Eli, was finally heading home. The task of keeping the Elixir safe from their enemies known only as the The Others. This task was given to him by his late Queen to make sure the Elixir was kept out of their enemies hands.

Rose was looking around the night club when she spotted him. As she came closer to him, Eli's heart began to beat harder, his body reacting to her being so close to him, after kissing her, his need to taste her was building in his blood, the Elixir that hung around his neck started to vibrate as hard as his heart was beating. Why would the Elixir vibrate only when she was so close? What did she have to do with the Elixir anyway? The others would try reclaim the Elixir on the way back to Rome. He would have to leave soon for Rome, but would Rose go with him? Would the others try again to reclaim the Elixir before it is reunited with the New Queen?

I truly enjoyed this book. I could not put it down. The characters are so real that you can connect to them and what they go though and why they feel the way they do. I love a great hero like Eli.
You can see how he comes to terms with his [past in order to be able to deal with his feelings for Rose. How Rose grows as a vampire because of Eli's acceptance of her in his life. I think this is a very well written book. The characters are all very well rounded and full of life. I can only hope that there will be more from Midnyte Dupree about Eli and Rose.

K.L. Bjork who also writes as Midnyte Dupree is such a wonderful writer. Her characters are wonderful written and full of life. Her website is www.midnyte-dupree.com

Barbara Weghorn
ENCHANTING REVIEWS
April 2009

SEIZE THE FIRE by Laura Kinsale

SEIZE THE FIRE
LAURA KINSALE
Historical Romance
Sourcebooks Casablanca
Sensuality Rating: Sexy
583 pages
ISBN # 978-1-4022-1396-0
$7.99
Print book – Available now

Rating: 4.5 Enchantments

Olympia, Princess of Orleans is ready to start a revolution. She believes she can help the people of her homeland oust the current government, her uncle, a ruthless tyrant, who has chosen to marry Olympia off for his political gain. Olympia is having none of that, she's thought of the prefect plan to foil her uncle. And she's found a hero to help her.

Captain Sheridan Drake isn't heroic, he's lucky. Even when he's doing his best to tarnish his reputation, he still ends up the hero. No matter what he does, he comes out smelling like a rose. When the princess asks for his help, he jumps at the chance, not to help her, but to take advantage of her. He's in a tremendous amount of debt, and figures he's found a plumb pigeon ready to be plucked.

Things do not go as planned for either of them. Olympia discovers that planning a revolt and being in one are two completely different concepts. When she finally learns her hero is a thieving scoundrel, she is forced to face reality and try to save herself. Is there any possible redemption for Sheridan? How can two people with such different personalities, find any common ground to base a relationship on?

I was so excited to finally find a historical romance that moved away from Great Britain and into more exotic locales. But, when I began this book I was a bit daunted by the size, it's been a long time since I've read an epic saga of any kind.

It didn't help that I was a bit disgusted by both Olympia and Sheridan for about the first quarter of the book. Olympia was a princess. She was spoiled, idealistic, and very naive in the matters of politics and the world in general, which she was so sure she could take over. Also, the gushing infatuation she felt for Sheridan was nauseating. Sheridan on the other hand, was a penniless knave, whose main concern was himself. He rarely did anything that did not benefit him.

When Olympia was rudely introduced to the reality of life, things seemed to finally pick up and get rolling. I soon found myself unable to put this book down! Soon I had an interesting heroine, who was spirited, independent and finally was not going to put up with being taken advantage of again. Sheridan turned around and truly decided to be a better person. As their mutual attraction became harder to avoid, I greatly anticipated them falling in love and wanting a future together. The danger that surrounded them kept the story hopping. I felt myself so emotionally entwined in the book that on more than one occasion I felt tears burning my eyes. The love they felt for each other and the trials they went through to get to their happily ever after made this a worthy read.

I can't wait for her new book LESSONS IN FRENCH coming out in February 2010.

Laura Kinsale is a New York Times Best-selling author. You can learn more about her http://www.laurakinsale.com/.


Aemelia
Enchanting Reviews
September 2009

TRIPLE EXPOSURE by Colleen Thompson

TRIPLE EXPOSURE
COLLEEN THOMPSON
Romantic Suspense
Dorchester Publishing, Leisure Books
Sensuality Rating: Sexy
352 pages
ISBN # 978-0-8439-6143-0
$7.99
Print book – Available now

Rating: 4.5 Enchantments

Killing her would-be attacker did not save Rachel Copeland from terror. She left Boston to return home Marfa, Texas, hoping to escape the media and a stalker, who believes Rachel didn't act in self-defense, but as a seductress and murderer. Believing if she left it all behind, she could start over.

Zeke Pike is a loner. He is perfectly happy not having to deal with people on a daily basis. He'd rather work with his hands, creating wood furniture, or ride out into the desert, alone. He has left his past far behind, missing it, but never to seeking to repair it.
Rachel and Zeke strike and unlikely friendship that quickly leads to passion. But the past is not ready to be buried. Who seeks to hurt Rachel, and why the animosity? Can Zeke and Rachel find happiness, if the killer doesn't get to them first?

TRIPLE EXPOSURE is a masterfully spun tale of romantic suspense. I was not able to correctly guess the true villain, though I had many suspects in mind. I was completely absorbed into this gripping story. While the thrilling suspense kept me glued to my seat, the compelling tenderness Zeke felt for Rachel, and her returned passion was wonderfully captured into words. I felt as if these two were perfect for each other. Though they had to work at realizing they were meant to have a future together. I was highly amused when the high school classmate of Rachel's was humiliated by her own actions, I always enjoy seeing a “mean girl” get a shot of her own medicine.

I look forward to reading more books by Ms. Thompson, who, prior to writing suspense wrote historical books as Gwyneth Atlee and Colleen Easton. She currently lives in Texas with her family. When she's not writing you can find her with her family or with a book in her face. You can learn more about her on the web at: www.colleen-thompson.com.


Aemelia
Enchanting Reviews
October 2009

Friday, August 21, 2009

HIGHLAND OBSESSION by Dawn Halliday

HIGHLAND OBSESSION
DAWN HALLIDAY
Historical Romance
Signet Eclipse
Sensuality Rating: Sizzling
ISBN# 978-0-451-22701-0
320 pages
$15.00
Trade – Available Now

Rating: 4 Enchantments

Alan, a Scottish laird, and Cam, the Earl of Camdonn, have been best friends since boarding school, wreaking havoc with each other and guarding each other’s back. Alan is handsome, serious and noble, whereas Cam is gorgeous, wealthy and out to have a good time. The one thing they do have in common is their love for the same woman.

Sorcha is a beautiful, sensuous woman, who above all else believes in honor. She had a fling with Cam in her youth, but once she marries Alan she becomes devoted to him.

Although Alan and Cam have been friends for years, that doesn’t stop Cam from deciding he can’t live without Sorcha and kidnapping Alan’s wife on their wedding night. Alan believed his bride was pure, but learns that she had a love affair with Cam before they met. While Cam struggles with his obsession with Sorcha, Alan must deal with his mixed feelings over his wife and best friend. Meanwhile, Sorcha is torn between two men she cares deeply for.

This book is hot, hot, hot! Sorcha, Alan and Cam burn up the pages with their passion for each other. Ms. Halliday definitely knows how to keep the sex scenes exciting and fresh. Sorcha isn’t the typical shy virgin heroine as portrayed in many historical romances. She’s a sensual woman who isn’t afraid to experience the carnal pleasures that await her.
All of the characters are struggling to come to terms over their feelings about each other, and Ms. Halliday does a good job of making the reader feel their angst as they try to do the right thing. Although at times I found Alan to be a little too self-righteous and Cam to be very selfish and it made me wonder how they would have become such good friends in the first place. Sorcha, on the other hand, was a very believable character who grows and learns about herself as the book progresses.

Overall, this is a sizzling read that leaves me wanting more. I can’t wait to read Cam’s story in HIGHLAND SURRENDER coming out in 2010.

Ms. Halliday lives in California with her husband and three sons. She also writes under the penname Jennifer Haymore. You can visit her website at http://www.dawnhalliday.com/

Heather
ENCHANTING REVIEWS
August 2009

MASTER by Colette Gale

MASTER: an Erotic Novel of the Count of Monte Cristo
COLETTE GALE
Erotica, Historical
Signet Eclipse
Sensuality Rating: Sizzling
ISBN #978-0-451-22412-5
343 Pages
$14.00
Trade: Available Now

Rating: 3 Enchantments

When Edmond Dantes finally escapes the prison walls which encased him for years, he returns home in disguise, on a path of revenge, as the wealthy Count of Monte Cristo. Nobody is quite sure where the Count is from, but one woman sees through the facade, as she gazes into the eyes of the man she once loved.

When the man Mercedes Herrera Mondego she loved vanished without a trace, she was sure her life was at an end. Married to a man she despises, she has never found a glimmer of the happiness she once cherished. Now her beloved has returned, though only she seems to realize it. But instead of a joyful reunion she discovers he is out for vengeance, and not just against the men who betrayed him, but also against her.

Will Edmond be content with the destruction of the lives of those who ruined him? Will he be the master to Mercedes, as he enslaves her in his passionate pursuit and retaliation efforts?

Honestly my biggest problem with this book was I was expecting a romance, but what I got out of it was an erotic novel, the romance just didn't work for me. The Count of Monte Cristo has always been one of my favorite books and movie adaptations, so I was eager to see how Ms. Gale wove one of my favorite classics into an erotic romance. Maybe my expectations were too high. While there was an unmistakable chemistry between Edmond and Mercedes, I just felt he was to cruel in his revenge to be a romance hero, okay that probably sounds silly especially with all the “revenge” themed romances out there, some of which I really like, but what I mean is that I never really felt him warm up to her, he always held himself aloof. I felt bad for Mercedes as she tried to regain her lost love, but never seemed to quite succeed. As erotica this was a fair read, but still not something that I was enthralled with. The story was peppered with many scorching hot and sometimes rather kinky sex scenes, but just great sex scenes doesn't make a good book for me, I need more plot that I can get into.

Colette Gale is the nom de guerre of a popular historical author. You can learn more about her and her books on her website: www.colettegale.com.

Aemelia
Enchanting Reviews
July 2009

THE PRINCE OF MIDNIGHT by Laura Kinsale

THE PRINCE OF MIDNIGHT
LAURA KINSALE
Historical
Sourcebooks
Sensuality Rating: Sexy
ISBN #978-1-4022-1397-7
521 Pages
$7.99
Paperback: Available Now

Rating 3.5 Enchantments

Lady Leigh Strachan has crossed France dressed as a boy, seeking the skills of The Prince of Midnight, a legendary highwayman, believing he can train her to kill the man who destroyed her family. But what she finds is a shell of a man, crippled by illness.

Living in a deteriorating castle, with his pet wolf, S.T. Maitland yearns for the company of a woman. He can't hear out of one ear, and is plagued by dizziness and nausea with every quick move he makes. Now he struggles to live life as an artist.

Circumstances force them together on a quest back to England, where he once again gains his health, strength, and stamina. Soon Leigh sees the ominous and invigorating man behind the legend. Can he melt the ice around her heart?

I found the first half of THE PRINCE OF MIDNIGHT to drag for me. It took me a while before I was able to warm up to Leigh and S.T. Leigh was just too cold and stubborn, while S.T. was almost ridiculously mushy. But once S.T. regained his vitality and health, and stopped letting Leigh walk all over him, I felt the story pick right up. Leigh had a long way to go before her heart healed over the tragic murders of her family, but she finally rediscovered her emotions, unable to lock them away any longer. The transition of S.T. from Beta to Alpha hero was intriguing. I am definitely a fan of the Alpha romance hero. I loved the complexity of the characters, even if they didn't appeal to me immediately, they were well developed, and eventually won me over.

I enjoyed THE PRINCE OF MIDNIGHT and look forward to rediscovering more of Ms. Kinsale's books.

Laura Kinsale, a former petroleum geologist, is a New York Times bestselling author. Who is working a new and highly anticipated book to be published in February 2010. She and her husband divide their time between Santa Fe and Dallas.

Aemelia
Enchanting Reviews
July 2009

Thursday, August 13, 2009

SECRET LIFE OF A VAMPIRE by Kerrelyn Sparks

SECRET LIFE OF A VAMPIRE
KERRELYN SPARKS
Paranormal Romance
Avon Paranormal Romance
Sensuality Level: Sexy
ISBN# 978-0-06-166785-5
360 Pages
$7.99
Paperback—Available Now

Rating: 4 Enchantments

Jack is the son of the legendary Casanova. He’s not a legendary lothario like his father and at times, just wishes to blend in amongst the other vampires. But when the bachelor party gets out of hand and two police officers come to the door, he does his best to wipe their memories and get them out of the room as fast as possible. The man is easy to control, but the woman, Jack can’t control her at all. There’s something about Lara, besides the fact he can’t alter her mind, that Jack finds interesting. But is it going to end up being his downfall? The last thing a vampire needs to do is get entangled with a mortal whom he can’t wipe away their memories if things go bad.

After a horrible car accident left her injured, Lara Boucher picked up and moved to NYC with her hospital roommate and became NYPD. Now on the way to making detective, Lara finds herself investigating the case of disappearing girls off university campuses. But there’s one thing that disturbs Lara, other then her attraction to Jack—the girls’ disappearances all seem to have a theme to them, and that theme shares something with Jack.

I loved Jack in SECRET LIFE OF A VAMPIRE but I have to say it took me a good while to like Lara. Up till around their first date, I wasn’t sure whether I wanted these two to end up together at all. As the son of Casanova, Jack should have the same skills with women as his father, but if his past has taught him anything, it’s that women usually can’t accept who he is. But with Lara, he’s willing to risk more then he thought possible. The chemistry between these two characters was almost instantaneous and continued like that throughout the book. One of my favorite scenes is when the two first meet and Lara is horrified at what she finds in the hotel suite, deciding that Jack’s attacked the two women in the bedroom (who are really nothing more than plastic dolls filled with blood) and that a passed out and blood stained Laszlo is in need of paramedics. It’s hilarious to see Jack try to get rid of her and her partner while she keeps discovering everything he doesn’t want a mortal to see.

A good addition to the series, SECRET LIFE OF A VAMPIRE will keep readers of this popular series happy with Jack’s story. I look forward to seeing which of the vampires we get to read about next.

Ms. Sparks lives in the greater Houston area with her husband, children and a houseful of garlic. Visit Ms. Sparks online at her website, http://www.kerrelynsparks.com/

Lisa
Enchanting Reviews
June 2009

POST GRAD by Emily Cassel

POST GRAD
EMILY CASSEL
Women’s Fiction
St. Martin’s Griffin
ISBN# 978-0-312-59626-2
256 Pages
$13.99
Trade--Available Now

Rating: 5 Enchantments

Ryden Malby’s had her whole life planned out, do well in high school, get a great scholarship and graduate, thereby moving into the next phase of her life, a gorgeous place and her dream job at the city’s best publishing house. Graduating from college was one thing, but when her plans for her life are quickly disintegrating she’s forced to do the unthinkable—move back home with her parents, her crazy grandmother and strange little brother till she can find a job and figure out what to do with her life.

POST GRAD is a hilarious, entertaining read. There wasn’t a single chapter where I didn’t either laugh or lament the thought of having to eventually put the book down. I loved Ryden instantly, it’s hard to not like a girl who’s dealing with a family as crazy as hers, and her nemesis in Jessica Barde, the ‘perfect’ girl who seems to always show up when Ryden would least like her to, especially during one truly horrific moment when working at Luggage World. Her best friend Adam who’s hopelessly crushing on her. Ryden’s family is truly one of the best, most outrageous families I’ve ever come across. Her father is beyond hilarious and her grandmother is a scene stealer. It’s so hard to pick a scene to mention in the review, but the first one that pops to mind is when her grandmother takes them shopping for her own casket and the chaos that ensues. Ryden’s already embarrassed enough at times by her family, but to have her grandmother actually trying out the caskets is enough to give the poor girl a meltdown.

If you’re looking for a great read, POST GRAD is one book you should definitely pick up.

Check out the first chapter online at http://us.macmillan.com/postgrad

Lisa
Enchanting Reviews
July 2009

Wednesday, August 5, 2009

LOVER AVENGED by J.R. Ward


LOVER AVENGED
J. R. WARD
Paranormal Romance Fiction
NAL
Sensuality Rating: Sexy
ISBN# 9780451225856
544 pages
$24.95eBook/Print
Available April 2009
Rating: 5 Enchantments

Rehvenge is an attentive son, a protective brother, a member of the Glymera and an exceptionally shrewd businessman. He wears his purple eyes and mohawk like a weapon and does not hesitate to make an example of people who cut into his business. His club is the hottest place in town and the women who solicit there are very well cared for. He is a drug dealer extraordinaire whose personal addiction is literally a matter of life and death. When a member of the aristocracy thinks Rehvenge makes the perfect pawn, he couldn’t be any more wrong. Rehv is ever the opportunist, although never at the expense of his family. And there’s the small matter of the princess who blackmails him with a secret that could bring the whole house of cards tumbling down.

Once upon a time Ehlena belonged to the beautiful world of the Glymera. An aristocrat by birth until an unfortunate change of circumstance saw her family lose their wealth, status, friends and home. These days she lives very modestly on the income she earns as a nurse. Her father’s illness leaves very little time to socialise and, from habit, she maintains a protective air of aloofness. Her contact with Rehvenge to date has been minimal, that of patient and nurse, until one day his conversation forces her to notice him as a man.

Secrets have a power, and Rehvenge’s secrets are a little bit different than those belonging to anyone else. They have the power to hurt his mother and sister, see his family cast from their home and have him imprisoned for the rest of his life. Not all as a result of his own actions. Up till now Rehv has kept his distance from the Brotherhood, in spite of his sister having married one of their warriors. His secrets cannot help in the war against those that would slay their kind, otherwise known as the Lessening Society. When members of the aristocracy seek him out as a possible candidate to kill their king, it’s not a total surprise when they add blackmail to the mix. In the middle of a regular visit to the doctor, Rehv makes his attraction to Ehlena very clear. While everything around them begins to unravel at an alarmingly fast pace, their feelings for each other seem to be the only bit of stability either of them can find. And even that seems uncertain when Rehvenge’s secrets are made known to Ehlena in the most terrifying way possible. When Ehlena starts to question what is and isn’t real it seems it may be too late.

“The king must die.” This eye opener of a statement kicks off the seventh novel in the darkly romantic Black Dagger Brotherhood series. And also manages to set the tone for the rest of the novel. While Rehv’s lifestyle may seem morally bankrupt, his own personal code of honour is deeply ingrained and, ironically enough, more honest than that of any of the aristocracy, and they’re the people who make the laws that everyone else abides by. Rehvenge and Ehlena’s story takes precedence over all else but, over and around that main theme, are other smaller supporting stories unfolding in their own way. Just when things begin to get interesting between Rehv and Ehlena the story would switch to John on a self-destructive streak, or to Xhex and her personal pain, or to Wrath and his deteriorating vision, or to Lasher and his perverted grab for power. While I found this extremely frustrating I couldn’t help but admire the way in which Ward very cleverly kept me on the edge of my seat. The sub-plots gave me hope that there would be other novels, if only for Xhex and John Matthew.

At no time did I think a happy ever after moment was a given. In fact, even when you think you’ve got a happy ending it comes with more food for thought. That’s not a bad thing – in fact it’s fantastic. I felt I had earned the ending because I had sweated blood and tears and nerves right along with the characters. My only regret is that the novel is finished and book 8 in this fantabulous series cannot come fast enough for me!

J. R. Ward lives with her husband and golden retriever in the American south, and spent years working as the Chief of Staff for an academic medical centre. For more information on the author and her books visit http://www.jrward.com/ where readers can choose to read the message boards or send an email: jrw@jrward.com

Tosca
Enchanting Reviews
June 2009

Thursday, July 9, 2009

THE BEAST WITHIN by Lisa Renee Jones

THE BEAST WITHIN
LISA RENEE JONES
Paranormal Romance
Harlequin Books/Silhouette Nocturne
ISBN# 978-0-373-61775-3
$5.25
Print - Available now

Rating: 5 Enchantments

She came to him in his dreams, tempting him, taking him to the edge, bringing the Beast within him to the surface. Making him lose the control he has fought so hard to keep.

Jag is the leader of the Knights of White, immortal warriors fighting the soulless Darkland Beasts. He lost his first love and his soul to the beasts two centuries earlier. He regained his soul, and if he loses it again, it will be forever. He will not succumb to the call again.

Karen Gibson lived a life of pleasure and fun, one that sheltered her from her past. That is, until she received a telegram from her sister Eva, stating only that Mark, Eva’s husband, was dead. By not giving any other details, Karen knew something was wrong.

Jag and Karen meet for the first time at the airport. He recognizes her and is suspicious, while she’s simply tired from her flight. When she sees Jag, she feels an initial jolt of recognition. Jag questions her appearance in his dreams, and begrudgingly releases her finally.

Karen finds her sister in a comatose state however. She recognizes the bite marks on her neck, and knows that she needs help. Help she will find at Jaguar Ranch, where Eva can be healed by those who fight the Darkland Beasts. This is where she encounters Jag, again. Jag is a tortured soul, needing to find the strength and courage to battle the beast within, though horrified of the consequences if he were to release it. Karen is his stabilizer, showing him that he can overcome the beast, though he will not trust her easily.

I loved, loved, loved this story. I did not want this book to end and, consequently, cannot wait for the next installment of the series. Ms. Jones has created characters you believe in and whom you want to see again and again. She drew me into not only the main characters, but also her supporting characters. I cannot wait to read Des’ story or to find out how the relationship between Rock & Marisol evolves (I’m hoping they get their own book too). I especially want to see what will transpire in the struggle between the good of Salvador, the descendent of Archangel Raphael, and the evil of Adrian, the right-hand man of Cain, the lord of the demons.

Ms. Jones has just become an auto buy for me! To find out more about this author and her books, you can visit her on the web at www.lisareneejones.com.


Aemelia
ENCHANTING REVIEWS
November 2007

HOLD by Zannie Adams

HOLD
ZANNIE ADAMS
Futuristic Romance
Ellora’s Cave
ISBN# 9781419912849
$5.20
eBook - Available now

Rating: 5 Enchantments

Imprisoned for a violation against the Coalition, mistakenly assuming that while she was given permission to explore the Imperial Palace of Karna, the permission also extended to digging on the Palace grounds, archeologist Riana is sent to the prison planet, Genus 6. A prison guard is kind enough to give her advice during her processing. In order to survive, she must align herself with the strongest man in the Hold. To give herself to him in exchange for his protection.

Dropped in the Hold, Riana is immediately surrounded by the predatory inmates, all wanting to have her. She notes the solitary man in a cell watching the goings on. Thorn, one of the Alphas, gives her the choice of him or he will give her to all the other prisoners. Not liking the cold, selfish look of him, Riana kicks him and chooses the loner in the cell.

Cain had been in the Hold for a year now. He had learned to survive by showing little or no emotion. By being stronger than all the rest. When Riana faces him through the bars, begging to be let in, he cannot refuse. While she realizes she must go through with the inevitable physical relationship, she is surprised by the actual pleasure and passion she feels for him.

Riana and Cain’s relationship is one of few words, but of great emotion. Cain is very driven and focused on finding an escape route. Riana is not sure of Cain’s feelings for her, though she knows she is growing to care for him. Riana is scared that when he does escape, he will not take her with.

I could not put this book down. It was as if something grabbed me and made me sit and finish the book in one afternoon. Ms. Adams had my undivided attention as I followed her characters, Cain and Riana. I was skeptical at first, but she gave such depth to Cain and Riana, that while the setting primarily took place in their cell, I just HAD to continue reading to see what their plan was to escape, and how their relationship developed. The chemistry between them was so hot and all-consuming, I think my pages began to smolder.

To find more information about this author, please visit her author bio page at www.ellorascave.com or her web page at www.zannie.net.


Aemelia
ENCHANTING REVIEWS
November 2007

A LIMITED ENGAGEMENT by SaraLee Etter

A LIMITED ENGAGEMENT
SARALEE ETTER
Regency Romance
Cerridwen Press
ISBN# 9781419911590
$5.95
eBook/Available now

Rating: 4 Enchantments

Palms sweaty, nerves jittery, butterflies in her stomach - it was opening night at the Elysium Theater. Miranda was making her acting debut as Hermia in “A Midsummer Nights Dream”, at her brother-in-law Edward’s theater. If she succeeded, it would mean that she could have a career, a chance to be independent.

Justin, Lord Devereux, needed money, and he needed money fast. He wasn’t due to come into his inheritance until his 35th birthday, a long way off. There was a prime piece of property that he wanted to buy, which he knew would not be on the market long. Justin decided to approach his uncle, Lord Meresford, for an early advancement of his funds. The answer is no, he is too young. But were Justin to become engaged to a respectable young lady, he may be persuaded into dissolving the trust early, so long as his wife, Lady Meresford, also approved of the match.

While Miranda and her sister, Mary, are scrambling to find a way to raise money to release Edward from prison, Justin is confronted by his aunt, Lady Meresford, and her new “charge” Lettice Tenley. To escape Lettice’s scheming, Justin quickly made up an imaginary fiancée. He hires Miranda to act as his fiancée until he could convince his uncle to dissolve his trust. He also wanting to avoid marriage with Lettice. Miranda jumped at the opportunity to earn enough money to bail her brother-in-law out of prison.

This was not a bad book, but it’s not one I will be reading again. While I found Miranda to be a warm and loving character, Justin came off as cold and stand-offish. I’m really not sure when they fell in love. My favorite character was Miranda’s nephew, Anthony; too bad nobody would listen to him!

I give credit to Ms. Etter for keeping me interested, I really did want to see what Miss Lettice Tenley held over Justin’s aunt, Lady Meresford, but I found the writing a little over-dramatic for my tastes, it was like reading a spoof of a romance - very cliché. I think the kicker for me was the “Scooby-Doo” ending “Everything would have worked perfectly if it hadn’t been for that abominable brat.” I did crack me up - I do love the Scooby gang, but I’m not sure that was the author’s intention. To find out more about this author and the books she has written, you can visit her on the web at http://www.saraleeetter.com/.


Aemelia
ENCHANTING REVIEWS
November 2007

Tuesday, June 30, 2009

SHADOW OF A DOUBT by Karen McCullough

SHADOW OF A DOUBT
KAREN MCCULLOUGH
Romantic Suspense
Cerridwen Press
Sensuality Rating: Sexy
ISBN# 1-4199-0684-4
eBook - Available now

Rating: 3 Enchantments

Detective Liz Ramsey is one focused police professional, until she meets Greg Conyers, an artist with a troubled soul and more. Torn between solving a slew of mounting murders and her ever growing desire to be Greg’s savior from himself, she almost succumbs to an end that could destroy them both. Only in the end does she find and battle the dark lurking monster within Greg, saving both the job and the man she loves.

Ms. McCullough masterfully brings to light the darkness and passion that is deep within us all. In SHADOW OF A DOUBT, she has created a true page turner that challenges the reader to look beyond the obvious until the bitter end. Balancing fiction with fact, she has created a truly unique romance-detective story.


Rowan
ENCHANTING REVIEWS
October 2007

THE MERRY WIDOW by Adriana Kraft

THE MERRY WIDOW
ADRIANA KRAFT
Contemporary Erotic Romance
Whiskey Creek Press Torrid
Sensuality Rating: Torrid
ISBN# 978-1-60313-174-2
272 pages
Price: N/A (ARC)
eBook - Releasing January 2008

Rating: 4.5 Enchantments

Merry Delaney is a recently widowed accountant. Though alone now, Merry is no stranger to loneliness. She’s been by herself, especially in her bed, for many years, ever since her husband had been diagnosed with a debilitating disease. However, it’s time for her to stop mopping around, and her best friend Camille knows just what Merry needs – sex. And lo and behold, good sex does not necessarily imply a man. Camille, a confirmed bisexual, introduces Merry to the world of Girls’ Night Out.

Detective Jim Barnes does not know Merry Delaney. That is, until an investigation leads him to her. The mob has been using her accountancy skills, unbeknownst to her, to skim money. Jim needs her to help him, and Merry agrees. However, Jim also knows he needs to keep a close eye on Merry. What if she went to the mob and tipped them off? However, he’s in for more than he bargained for, and it is to a long list of sexual dates, both male and female, that he is privy to while in surveillance.

There comes a time when Jim can no longer contain his desire for the adventurous Merry. Merry herself did not imagine she would have such a wild streak. She indulges in her newfound sexual freedom and liberation. Until the day Jim steps into her life as more than a cop, but as a fiery lover. Can the passion between them survive Merry’s need for independence? And what to make of the mob’s escalating threats on her person?

THE MERRY WIDOW is one very merry romp. The heat sizzles and burns off almost every page. Be prepared to need lots of cooling aid when reading this one! However, despite the almost non-ending sexual prowess related in the story, the author does manage to convey a physical and human dimension to the characters. The romance between Merry and Jim is nothing short of sweet, well, okay, if you overlook the sultry blaze that lights up at every encounter.

Definitely a good read, but one that will leave the reader hot, hot, hot!


Zee
Enchanting Reviews
October 2007

MY EYES ONLY by Judith Otto

MY EYES ONLY
JUDITH OTTO
Young Adult Adventure Romance
Whiskey Creek Press
ISBN# 978-1-59374-129-7
190 pages
Price: N/A (ARC)
eBook - Available October 2007

Rating: 5 Enchantments

Mandy Rossiter is a on the point of taking a giant leap into the unknown world of adolescence. The era is the 1950s.

Her story starts with the gift of a diary from her best friend, Sally. From this point on, she’ll record everything that happens to her, from the trivial to the important. And also, she’ll put her secrets in the diary, secrets even Sally won’t know of.

As Mandy embarks on her journey, the world is changing around her. Her friends are wearing makeup, trousers, and going out with boys. Mandy’s parents are old fashioned and forbid her from doing all this.

Yet, Mandy has discovered the fascination which boys present to adolescent girls. There is the older, stovepipe-wearing, slicked back hair and dressed-in-black guy she meets while on vacation, who gives her her first real kiss. Then back home, there is sweet and handsome Gary, who wants her as his steady girlfriend. Then there is Roger, the bad boy spelling trouble.
There is the journey of discovery, complete with the lure of adventure and the thrilling temptation of seduction... It is also a time of love, sweet kisses, and betrayal.

While I will admit that at the start of the book I wasn’t too keen on this story, I cannot recall where Mandy Rossiter pulled me into her world and made me want to stay there. Ms. Otto writes in a poignant way which makes the reader feel Mandy as if she was there and the reader was her best friend. The reader is taken along this journey, and sometimes is terribly frustrated to be only a silent observer, wanting at times to laugh with Mandy, bash her on the head when she is about to do something stupid, and cry with her when her life goes hay wire.

Mandy’s story is one any woman can relate to, because we’ve all been there at one point, be it in different eras or decades. At heart, Mandy is the girl in us.

Thanks Ms. Otto for having caught this elusive essence of growing up in this book.


Zee
Enchanting Reviews
October 2007

TO LOVE AN OUTLAW by Roxanne Springer

TO LOVE AN OUTLAW
ROXANNE SPRINGER
Western Erotic Romance/Historical
Whiskey Creek Press Torrid
Sensuality Rating: Torrid
ISBN# 978-1-59374-990-3 (eBook)
ISBN# 978-1-59374-990-3 (Trade Paperback)
$6.99/$15.95 paperback
446 pages
Releasing December 2007

Rating: 3.5 Enchantments

Jessica Randall is a young widow. Beautiful and strong, she mourns and pays homage to her deceased husband. Though alone, she knows she can make it, and tends to her farm almost single handedly. Jessica is not a recluse, but she isn’t too social either, living at a distance from the nearby town.

Until the stormy night when a man knocks on her door. His name is John Budreau and he is injured. He requests her help, and Jessica acquiesces. However, something else is shared between them, and that is an undeniable attraction.

Jessica allows her woman’s heart to come out of its painful and lonely mourning, and it is with renewed vigor that the same heart now beats for the handsome John. When he decides to stay back for a while as hired hand on her farm, both he and Jessica allow the simmering appeal for each other to gain ground.

They eventually fall in love. Yet, the enigmatic John carries and hides a secret so terrible it would tear the very heart he now cherishes - Jessica’s. Should he reveal his secret, there will be no future for them. And a future with Jessica is precisely what he now yearns for.

Both Jessica and John are very lovable characters. They have both been depicted with flair and humanness. The story reserves some very powerful twists and turns, some of which the reader will not see coming. The eventful dimension of the story however does tend to lag and drag in some instances, and in some places, the recovery is rather lacking. However, all this might be overlooked in the light of Ms. Springer’s particular brand of realistic and very detail-oriented descriptions of historical life.


Zee
Enchanting Reviews
October 2007

LOVE IN THE AFTERNOON by Bruce Cooke

LOVE IN THE AFTERNOON
BRUCE COOKE
Romance Contemporary
Whiskey Creek Press
ISBN# 978-1-59374-072-6
Price: N/A (ARC)
200 pages
eBook - Available October 2007

Rating: 5 Enchantments

Life is bleak, grey and ugly for fifty-year old widow Joanne Montgomery. Not wanting to hurt their children with the stark, ugly truth about their father, she carries the burden of his infidelities and abusive streak alone. Depression lurks like a pernicious cloak around her, and she often seeks solace in the bottle. Until the day Ritchie steps into her life.

Richard Collins, better known as Ritchie, is fifty-three years old and a divorced father of three. Ritchie has brought his kids up single handedly, and there has never really been time for him to seek more from life. When he meets Joanne, Ritchie knows she is his second chance at love.

From here starts a quest to win over first Joanne’s trust, then her love, both of which he gains after his relentless pursuit of her. Joanne, wary of love, finally falls for Ritchie. Things couldn’t be better – if only her daughter Becky could be happy for her. Becky held her father in saintly light, and she is aghast at her mother being with another man, especially Ritchie, whom she views with much distrust. To further stir things up, Ritchie’s gold-digging ex-wife steps back into the picture. She’s been ditched by her latest lover, and wants back into Ritchie’s life. She won’t let a small obstacle like Joanne stand in her way, and she convinces Joanne she and Ritchie are back together.

Joanne is hurt and feels betrayed. She withdraws from the relationship. But Ritchie is not ready to let her go, at least not without putting up a fight. He will expose the lies keeping them apart, come hell or high water.

Here is one story with an apparently simple plot. Simple? Not so much. While I will admit the plot is rather uncomplicated, there is a big surprise awaiting all the readers, and this is the author’s delightful writing voice. Mr. Cooke’s mastery of relationships and the characters he creates in Love in the Afternoon is simply to be applauded. Rarely have I read of a hero more worthy of being termed a hero – Ritchie, despite being in the afternoon of life, is a man any woman would find hard not to fall for. The interaction of the characters in this set-up is simply marvelous, especially where Ritchie and his daughter Sally are concerned. I had one laugh after another with these two.

This is one story to curl up with and read in one single go. It will fill you with a soft warm glow, and you will fall in love along the way.


Zee
Enchanting Reviews
October 2007

COP'S DAUGHTER: GRACE by Laura Marie Henion

COP’S DAUGHTER 3: GRACE
LAURA MARIE HENION
Suspense
Whiskey Creek Press
240 pages
ISBN# 978-1-59374-391-8
Price: N/A (ARC)
eBook - Available October 2007

Rating: 4.5 Enchantments

At age 9, Grace Martin faced a facet of life no person desires to encounter. Now, years later, Grace is a detective with the NYPD, following in the footsteps of her illustrious cop father. Grace is very good at her job, and has an affinity for mapping out the mind of killers. Undercover work is another one of her fortes.

Lieutenant Max Mathews is on a complicated case. Women are going missing, and he has to put a stop to it. A hardened, street-tough and savvy cop, Max needs Grace’s help on this one.
Grace’s own cases of missing women bring her in touch with Max. Both cannot deny the magnetic attraction between them. It is even more disturbing for Grace who never allows herself to simply be a woman and always views herself as a cop, first and final.

As Grace figures out a connection between the disappearances, an undercover operation brings her face to face with the mastermind behind the sordid affair. This man, known as the Master, runs an illegal sex slave network. He abducts those women for his clients who require a sex slave. But now the Master has something else on his mind – he has identified his own sex slave, and her name is Grace Martin.

Will Grace take the fall? Her father died because of the ‘job’. Will History repeat itself?
If it is suspense you crave, this is the book for you. Rarely have I been kept on the edge of my seat from such gripping tension and anticipation. Not to mention the sizzling tension and raw attraction between Grace and Max that simply simmers off the pages. Ms. Henion knows her craft. She creates a captivating world, and her descriptions will allow the readers to close their eyes and connect immediately with her vividly portrayed settings. The twists and turns in this one sure make it a page-turner.


Zee
Enchanting Reviews
October 2007

THE DARK WARRIORS by SFX Fantasy

THE DARK WARRIORS
SFX FANTASY
fantasy, young adult, paranormal romance
LuLu
ISBN# 978-1-4303-0957-4
Price: N/A
eBook - Available now

Rating: 4 Enchantments

Welcome to the SXF Fantasy series; this is the third book. It starts up where it left off with Jakeand Sarah, his flying companion. These two elite warriors battle the shadow beasts ravagingand destroying their lands.

Jake has trouble with his fuzzy memories, but Sarah is able to unburden Jake’s mind and openhim up with her love. With the help of their friends Helen, Bob and Torin, these warriors standup and battle the monsters in the dark.

This book is wonderfully written. The intense plot will keep you turning the pages and wantingmore. The epilogue “Nine Years” is an added teaser about Jake and Sarah. THE DARKWARRIORS is a gripping tale that will lead its reader gasping for more. If you have not readthe first two books, I recommend starting with WARRIOR GIRL and LOST IN ANOTHERREALM. You won’t want to leave this series off your reading list.


Raven
Enchanting Reviews
October 2007

WEB OF DECEIT by Kim Watters

WEB OF DECEIT
KIM WATTERS
Inspirational Romantic Suspense
The Wild Rose Press
Sensuality Rating: Sweet, but a PG rating for Violence
ISBN# 1-60154-115-5
$5.00
eBook - Available 2007

Rating: 5 Enchantments

Faith is a woman who lives up to her name. She is going home for the first time in years after the mysterious death of her husband, hoping for a new beginning for her and her young son. She has faith that God to help pull her through this dark time into a time of peace. She hopes for a new love, or rather an old one.

Adam has faith in God too, but he has been haunted by what could have been with Faith for years. He will do whatever it takes to protect her and her young son from the people who might mean her harm.

People can be brought together by their faith in God. One character wants to go home again, and the other wants to be with the woman that he has loved for years. Finally, they each have the chance to live out a dream and figure out what is real. Adam is there to watch out for her. Faith will find out the truth about whether her husband is truly dead or if it all is just a lie. Can we trust our heart to tell the truth? Can we trust in faith and God?

I really liked this story. I have not read a romance in a while that had people in it who had faith in God. It was very refreshing to see stories about people who still have faith in God and let Him direct their lives, and are not ashamed to admit it.

Thumbs way up for this author. I hope to see more books like this from her.


Melanie
Enchanting Reviews
October 2007
Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...